DJI to Disable Flight Information Sync within the U.S. and Take away Thumbnail Previews Globally – sUAS Information – The Enterprise of Drones

DJI to Disable Flight Information Sync within the U.S. and Take away Thumbnail Previews Globally – sUAS Information – The Enterprise of Drones


Whereas flight data, photographs, and movies aren’t collected and synced with DJI by default throughout DJI’s client and enterprise drone merchandise, drone operators have all the time had the choice to opt-in and sync this knowledge primarily based on private desire, and in instances the place they should ship their drone to DJI for restore or after-sales service.

DJI frequently evaluates its knowledge coverage in keeping with market calls for and privateness expectations. As such, beginning June 2024, DJI will not supply the choice for client and enterprise drone operators in the USA to sync their flight data to DJI’s servers. 

Moreover, thumbnail previews will not be generated and proven on the DJI Fly app interface for client drones globally. Enterprise drone operators aren’t affected, as their drones didn’t characteristic thumbnails to start with.

Key Dates

From June 12 onwards

U.S. solely: The “Sync Flight Information” choice within the flight app’s Settings might be disabled. Operators who attempt to add their native flight data will obtain an error message that the add failed.

From June 27 onwards 

U.S. solely: The “Sync Flight Information” choice will disappear from the Settings web page as a part of the subsequent replace of DJI Fly (Mid-July for DJI Pilot 2).

DJI Fly app Settings page

World: Thumbnail previews will not be generated or proven on the flight app interface as a part of the subsequent replace. 

Example of thumbnail previews

DJI recommends that operators who’ve beforehand opted in to syncing their flight data with DJI, obtain and create a backup of their flight data as quickly as potential.

Disabling the flight document sync choice will solely take impact within the U.S. at the moment. DJI will assess person expertise and suggestions earlier than contemplating a broader rollout to different areas. This initiative demonstrates DJI’s continued dedication to hanging a steadiness between person comfort and rising privateness expectations.

Extra Info

If I’m primarily based outdoors of the U.S., what adjustments will occur to my flight app if I fly within the U.S.? 

If a person from one other area travels to the U.S. and generates flight data throughout their keep, these flight data won’t be synced to their flight knowledge after leaving the U.S.

What is going to occur if I don’t obtain the info saved within the cloud?

This variation doesn’t have an effect on regular flight capabilities. Nonetheless, as soon as flight data which customers beforehand opted-in to sync on the server are deleted, the flight knowledge can’t be retrieved.

If I’m from the U.S. however journey abroad, what occurs to my flight app? 

When a person from the USA travels to a different area, the flight document synchronization toggle could reappear, permitting flight data generated in that area to be uploaded and downloaded usually. Nonetheless, upon returning to the USA, the flight document synchronization toggle might be disabled once more, and importing won’t be potential.

Can I opt-out of this replace? I would like my flight data! 

Please be aware that you’ll nonetheless be capable of entry your flight data manually. Will probably be saved within the controller or the SD card. 

How will this replace have an effect on third-party apps?

Third-party flight software program that has been constructed via DJI’s Cell SDK won’t be affected. 

Will beforehand uploaded flight data be affected?

Flight data which have already been uploaded to the cloud are presently nonetheless accessible for obtain. Nonetheless, these generated inside the U.S. might be deleted shifting ahead. To be certain that your beneficial flight recollections aren’t misplaced, it’s endorsed that customers inside the USA again up their cloud-based flight data as quickly as potential.

If the person doesn’t replace the flight app, will the unique interface stay unchanged? Can flight data nonetheless be uploaded?

The person will should be related to the web with a purpose to try to add (or obtain beforehand uploaded) flight data. From June 12, operators will not be capable of add new flight data because the connection to the server would have already been disabled within the U.S. As a substitute, operators will see a “Obtain” button that they’ll use to entry and save a replica of their earlier flight data knowledge manually to native storage within the subsequent replace.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *